Dwarves With A Passion
September 26, 2017, 01:00:12 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome to Dwarves With A Passion!
 
  Home Help Search Staff List Login Register  

Cliffyness and Goblin spawn

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Cliffyness and Goblin spawn  (Read 521 times)
Marlowe
Bay Watcher
*
Posts: 13


View Profile
« on: October 27, 2008, 07:10:02 am »

I'm playing on a massively cliffy map at the moment. The z-level I started at overlooks at least 8 levels of sheer cliffs  (down to the level with the volcano) and is over looked in turn by about 19 z-levels worth of mountain. There's very few slopes, so there's heaps of little shelves and plateaux that are inaccessible to almost everyone. In time I hope to build bridges and access tunnels to the more lonely bits of the map, but since each new entrance must have it's own defenses (even if it's just some traps), I'm not working hard on this at the moment with my 60 Dwarves.


Thing that bothers me is that SOME of these isolated mesas and shelves and plateaux and things are at the edge of the map. Is it possible for Goblins ambush parties and snatchers to spawn there? They'd never get to us and we'd never know they were there, but their presence might prevent other goblins from spawning. I have no iron ore, need goblins.
Report Spam   Logged

Social Buttons

DoctorZ
OGamer
Bay Watcher
*
Posts: 7


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2008, 02:50:48 pm »

It might happen. How many are we talking about?

I don't know how Toady has coded the sieges, but I'm assuming it looks for access to your fortress, kind of the same way the Depot Access works, and figures out where the best place to spawn is.
Report Spam   Logged
Time Kitten
Bay Watcher
*
Posts: 13


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2008, 06:31:09 pm »

Hmm... I'd try setting up a CATapult with raising bridges and pitted cats to put some scouts on the places that you're worried about.
Report Spam   Logged
Wolfking6116
Bay Watcher
*
Posts: 24


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2008, 03:56:35 pm »

Actually it can happen. I had a siege where one group of goblins started in a small area that had no access to my part.

If you want to fix it, just dig outside your fortress and make all the little nooks connect to the outside. It's the only way to be sure.
Report Spam   Logged
Zorgn
Bay Watcher
*
Posts: 20


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: October 28, 2008, 04:18:04 pm »

It's the only way to be sure.

Untrue. This is the only way to be sure.
Report Spam   Logged
Wolfking6116
Bay Watcher
*
Posts: 24


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: October 28, 2008, 04:20:27 pm »

But DF doesn't have nukes... Yet.

*Places a 'Failure' sticker on Zorgn's forehead* <.<!
Report Spam   Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bookmark this site! | Upgrade This Forum
SMF For Free - Create your own Forum | Buy traffic for your forum/website

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines